News Room


Date Published: 05 Jul 2019

The Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy, Mr Gwede Mantashe (MP) will table the Department’s 2019/20 budget votes on the 10th and 11th of July 2019 in Parliament.  The Minister, together with the Deputy Minister, Ms Bavelile Hlongwa will outline the Department’s priorities for the 2019/20 financial year.

Budget Votes, which are informed by the State of the Nation Address where the President outlines the broad strategic imperatives of the country, set out departmental priorities for the year ahead, and are an important instrument for the Executive to account to Parliament and the people. Departments are held to account through the Parliamentary process and the robust debate by Members of Parliament on the Budget Vote.

This process also helps to ensure that public funds allocated to departments are spent according to government’s priorities.

The Minister and the Deputy Minister will table the budget votes as follows:

Vote: Mineral Resources

Date:               10 July 2019

Venue:            National Assembly

Time:              10:00


Vote: Energy

Date:               11 July 2019

Venue:            Old Assembly

Time:              14:00

Members of the media are invited to attend a media briefing scheduled to take place as follows:

Date:          Thursday, 11 July 2019

Venue:       Imbizo Media Centre, Parliament, Cape Town (with a link up to Tshedimosetso               

                  House (GCIS) Pretoria)

Time:          16h30

Kindly confirm your attendance for the media briefing by Tuesday, 9 July 2019 at 16:00, at the following email addresses: and

For enquiries contact:

Nathi David Shabangu on 073 852 1922 - Media Liaison Officer - Office of the Minister

Ayanda Shezi on 082 308 1586 - Head of Communications – Mineral Resources

Thandiwe Maimane on 083 645 7837 - Head of Communications - Energy


Ends –

DMRE Budget Vote 2019