The Minerals and Petroleum Board has been appointed for a period of three (3) years with effect from 18 March 2024 until 19 March 2027 in line with the provisions of section 59 (2) of the Mineral and Petroleum Resources Development Act, 2002 (Act 28 of 2002) (MPRDA), as amended.  The Board is comprised of the following members from various relevant stakeholders:


No. Name and Surname Representing
1 Ms. Debbie Ntombela Chairperson
2 Mr. David Msiza Chief Inspector of Mines
3 Mr.Goitsemodimo Daniel Balepile Organised Labour
4 Mr. Matthew Grant Organised Labour
5 Adv. Paul Mardon Organised Labour
6 Mr. Peter Temane Organised Business
7 Mr. Motsamai Motlhamme Organised Business
8 Mr. Tebello Chabana Organised Business
9 Ms. Raksha Naidoo Non-Governmental Organisation
10 Mr. Kgauta Mokoena State Department
11 Ms. Modilati Malapane State Department
12 Mr. Pieter Swart State Department
13 Inkosi Falendoda Malinga Community Based Organisation
14 Mr. Taumang Mathibeng Community Based Organisation
15 Ms. Sibongile Malie Designated Agency
16 Ms. Ntombifuthi Zikalala Mvelase Persons with appropriate experience
17 Mr. Rathata Matabane Persons with appropriate experience

The main functions of the Board as prescribed in section 58 of the MPRDA, as amended, would be to provide an advisory service to the Minister which amongst others to provide advises on:


(i) any matter which must be referred to the Board by or under the MPRDA;

(ii) the sustainable development of the nation's mineral resources;

(iii) the transformation and downscaling of the minerals and mining industry; and

(iv) dispute resolution.

In terms of Section 59 of the Mineral and Petroleum Resources Development Act, 2002 (Act 28 0f 2002) the Board consist of no fewer than 17 and no more than 20 members; and must reflect the gender and racial composition in the Republic.  The Minister must appoint as members of the Board:

  • Chairperson
  • Chief Inspector
  • Three persons representing any relevant state department
  • Three persons representing organized business
  • Three persons representing organized labour
  • At least one person representing non-governmental organization
  • Two persons representing relevant community-based organizations
  • At least two persons with appropriate experience
  • At least one person from a designated agency